Ted Hughes – We ought to take this man now

 
 
 
Charles Monteith, then commissioning editor at publishing Faber & Faber, sent the following note to fellow editor and poet T. S. Eliot in 1957 along with a copy of Ted Hughes‘ first collection of poetry: The Hawk in the Rain. He also suggested maybe sending Hughes a letter of encouragement. Eliot’s response can be seen written in pencil. He went on to sign Ted Hughes to Faber & Faber and Hughes went on to become a world-renowned poet and author of children’s fiction. From 1984, up until his death in 1998, he also became British Poet Laureate

Transcript

MR. ELIOT

THE HAWK IN THE RAIN: Ted Hughes

I wonder if you’d like to look at this? I must confess that the name of Ted Hughes was unknown to me until these poems arrived; but – as you’ll see from the correspondence – he’s a young Englishman whose poems have been published chiefly in America. This book, his first, has won the First Publication Award in a contest sponsored by the New York Poetry Centre and judged by Auden, Spender and Marianne Moore. The quality seems to me very uneven; but I think there’s some interesting poetry in the book. Though I don’t feel we’d want to take him on yet, he might perhaps have a letter of encouragement. Would it, I wonder, be worth while asking Spender informally for some more information about the Award; and about the judges’ assessment of Mr. Hughes’ work?

CM.
9.4.57.

I’m inclined to think we ought to take this man now. 
Let’s discuss him. 

(Signed)

About mountiangirl

" Remembering the Past, celebrating the Present and believing in the Future. ∞ The scribbled notes,poems,poetry of our lives." I am a FREE SPIRIT, Mostly known as Mombo " The Mystery Woman " and a rare few call me " Mountian Girl " which they say is an honor and royality. Jerry Garcia - The Greatful Dead - I am a Fiber Artist - Spinning, Weaving and knitting. I am shy and speak little - this is where my PC talks for me. I love music but not rap. But my true love's are humor, old letters,poetry and history of all things forgotten. But also so that the younger generation can read of it too ( gain knowledge ) be it never known or just forgot. There is so much even I don't remember at my ripe young age of 51.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

