1 of 2 – Leonard Cohen

Leonard Cohen was a very hypnotic poet / song writer. Chris Botti makes love with his body to his insturment as as if a man and woman.

A Thousand Kisses Deep by Leonard Cohen

It is the nature of poetry that its words mean different things to different people. Or if you prefer, the power of poetry is that it illuminates something within each of us, and that thing may differ from person to person. Therefore it would be wrong to claim that the wonderfully emotive phrase ‘A Thousand Kisses Deep’ has just a single objective meaning agreed by all.
That said, for me personally, it refers to that sublime state of union that occurs when you know your partner so well that you almost become one. “My mirror twin, my next of kin / I’d know you in my sleep /And who but you would take me in / A Thousand Kisses Deep.” I would say that you begin to have a deep relationship with your lover at which point you will be kissed a thousand times or more.Thousand Kisses Deep may seem boringly old-fashioned, I would go so far as to say that a person is not a complete human being until he or she has been                   
 
A Thousand Kisses Deep.
 
This is a very intimate poem, and by “intimate” I don’t mean sex-related (although my heart did speed up at some lines more than others). I mean I feel like I just looked in someone’s bedroom, like I saw a part of humanity people just don’t like to share with each other. Sort of like a secret, but not. People don’t really like to admit that they need others in any way and this poem capitalizes on it.
 
 Its okay to want that, The next level “A thousand kisses deep.” when”we” are really in love -a thousand kisses deep- and you see nothing else, you are baptized by love, all looks 100% real, you can feel it.
 
A Thousand kisses deep – Book of longing version
 
–Leonard Cohen
You came to me this morning
And you handled me like meat.
You´d have live alone to know
How good that feels, how sweet.
Anonymous, and hard, and fast –
(I´d know you in my sleep) –
Then born together, born at last
A thousand kisses deep.
I loved you when you opened
Like a lily to the heat.
I´m just another snowman
Standing in the rain and sleet,
Who loved you with his frozen love
His second-hand physique –
With all he is, and all he was
A thousand kisses deep.
All soaked in sex, and pressed against
The limits of the sea:
I saw there were no oceans left
For scavengers like me.
We made it to the forward deck
I blessed our remnant fleet –
And then consented to be wrecked
A thousand kisses deep.
It´s true that you could lie to me
It´s true you could to cheat
The means no longer guarantee
The virtue in deceit.
That truth is bent, that beauty spent,
That style is obsolete –
O since the Holy Spirit went
A thousand kisses deep.
(So what about this inner Light
That´s boundless and unique?
I´m slouching through another night
A thousand kisses deep.)
I´m turning tricks; I´m getting fixed,
I´m back on Boogie Street.
I tried to quit the business –
Hey, I´m lazy and I´m weak.
But sometimes when the night is slow,
The wretched and the meek,
We gather up our hearts and go
A thousand kisses deep.
(And fragrant is the thought of you,
The file is now complete –
Except what we forgot to do
A thousand kisses deep.)
The ponies run, the girls are young,
The odds are there to beat.
You win a while, and then it´s done –
Your little winning streak.
And summoned now to deal
With your invincible defeat,
You live your life as if it´s real
A thousand kisses deep.
(I jammed with Diz and Dante –
I did not have their sweep –
But once or twice, they let me play
A thousand kisses deep.)
And I´m still working with the wine,
Still dancing cheek to cheek.
The band is playing “Auld Lang Syne” –
The heart will not retreat.
And maybe I had miles to drive,
And promises to keep –
Your ditch it all to stay alive
A thousand kisses deep.
And now you are the Angel Death
And now the Paraclete;
Now you are the Quickening Breath
And now the Belsen heap.
No turning from the threat of love,
No acrobatic leap –
As witnessed here in time and blood
A thousand kisses deep
About mountiangirl

" Remembering the Past, celebrating the Present and believing in the Future. ∞ The scribbled notes,poems,poetry of our lives." I am a FREE SPIRIT, Mostly known as Mombo " The Mystery Woman " and a rare few call me " Mountian Girl " which they say is an honor and royality. Jerry Garcia - The Greatful Dead - I am a Fiber Artist - Spinning, Weaving and knitting. I am shy and speak little - this is where my PC talks for me. I love music but not rap. But my true love's are humor, old letters,poetry and history of all things forgotten. But also so that the younger generation can read of it too ( gain knowledge ) be it never known or just forgot. There is so much even I don't remember at my ripe young age of 51.
Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

