Our Mask – Being True To Who We Really Are.

I wore a mask for a long time until a friend – made me see ‘me for me ‘

There is a saying ~ Until you make the unconscious conscious,
it will direct your life and you will call it fate ~

– On some level we are all facing fear – afraid of being seen for who we truly are.

Afraid of seeing ourselves for who we really are.

Afraid of confronting our limiting beliefs, we avoid facing fear by hiding.

In order to prevent our true inner self from being seen, we wear a symbolic or metaphorical mask over our authentic personality in the hope that we will remain hidden.

We are born into the world naked and exposed, totally vulnerable and dependent on the ‘big people’ around us.

It is fear which creates the mask, and fear which keeps it in place.

The mask is hiding our true and most beautiful self from both ourselves and from the world.

In its place is a mask of un-beauty.

We absorb everything they tell us, both positive and negative.

We internalize other people’s (especially parents’) reactions to our actions and measure ourselves accordingly. If we break a toy and our mother says, “That’s bad”, we conclude that we are bad.

When we are given the same feedback often, it becomes The Truth.

I’d say 80% of what we hear is negative, it is little wonder that we develop negative beliefs about ourselves, such as: “I’m stupid”, “I’m ugly”, “I’m weak”, “I’m a failure”, “I’ll never make it” and my personal favorite, “I’m not good enough.”

Growing up, we harbor these beliefs, but keep them hidden because we don’t want anyone else to know.

We create an image of ourselves that is different from (and usually better than) the person we believe we are.

We put on a mask that shows the world a different face and we hide behind it for as long as possible.

Most of us do that at one time or another.

We “try on” different masks to see which is the most comfortable, which affords us the most protection from exposure.

When we dig deeply enough into our hidden nature we find not darkness but light – and the realization that our safety lies in actually letting down the mask and being seen in being our true authentic self.

Have you ever had that dream where you are giving a speech to a crowded room but you are the only one without any clothes? People have a universal fear of being exposed. Hiding behind a mask makes the risk of exposure less frightening.

Masks can take the form of “I know it all” or “I’m a nice guy” or “I’m dangerous” or “I’m tough” or “I’m special”… We try to believe that this is who we are, but the early “truth” still lingers: I am not good enough.

So we add layers and accessories that add more credibility to the whole costume—another diploma or award, another car or a bigger house.

Gradually, the costume becomes very heavy.

The result?

Mental and physical exhaustion.

We burn out from the effort of trying to maintain a façade.

We lose our ability to be spontaneous and enjoy the moment .

We end up missing out on real relationships with others—they fall in love with the mask, or we don’t let them get close enough to see what’s under it.

I realize that your mask is not who you are.

Acknowledge the fact that you created your act for your survival and that probably for a while that was valuable, but it is not necessary any more.

In most cases, the mask has served its purpose and now it is only a hindrance to your growth and happiness.

Be willing to drop your act and commit yourself to do doing whatever it takes to become the real you.

Some people never take off the mask and lose their identity and soul completely.

Lose the mask. You are good enough!

About mountiangirl

" Remembering the Past, celebrating the Present and believing in the Future. ∞ The scribbled notes,poems,poetry of our lives." I am a FREE SPIRIT, Mostly known as Mombo " The Mystery Woman " and a rare few call me " Mountian Girl " which they say is an honor and royality. Jerry Garcia - The Greatful Dead - I am a Fiber Artist - Spinning, Weaving and knitting. I am shy and speak little - this is where my PC talks for me. I love music but not rap. But my true love's are humor, old letters,poetry and history of all things forgotten. But also so that the younger generation can read of it too ( gain knowledge ) be it never known or just forgot. There is so much even I don't remember at my ripe young age of 51.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

